How I Care For My Colored Hair

It’s that time of year, (which , to be frank, is kind of all year round), to dye our hair. Whether it’s for spring, summer, or any season i particular, people are always dying their hair. Now, as we all know, dyed hair can do quite the bit of damage; it dries it out and makes it not as attractive as you’d want it to be. Fortunately, if you take care of your hair just right, you can avoid this catastrophe. I happen to have gotten my hair dyed recently. Now, I am not going to lie, I’ve never really taken good care of my hair. But I decided that, if I’m gonna get my hair dyed, I’m going to start taking better care of it. I also decided to share with y’all some tips on taking care of dyed hair.

Deep Conditioning

This is a must. Deep conditioners are meant to help with dry or damaged hair. Even if your hair isn’t dry or damaged yet, it’s still good to use. I deep condition my hair at least once a week. You can find deep conditioner pretty much anywhere. Just find a good one and you’re good to go. The steps are simple: After shampooing your hair, apply the conditioner all over your damp hair. Leave it in there for 10-20 minutes. (Note: If the boxes instructions says to leave it in for a time less than 10, it’s probably not that good a conditioner.) Now, some people like to get the hair in a shower cap and use the heat of a blow dryer on it. Doing this gives you a deeper conditioning.

The Right Shampoo and Conditioner

A very important part of taking care of hair (in general) is what shampoo and conditioner you use. Shampoos and conditioners can have drying chemicals in it. The main chemicals you should avoid are silicone and sulfate. I use Suave Coconut Oil Infusion Damage Repair Shampoo and Conditioner. The reasons I chose this is not only the fact that I’m obsessed with coconut/fruity scented hair products, but because I know for a fact that coconut oil is brilliant for hair. So when I found out about this new product by Suave, I had to try it out. This is a very good hair product. It is safe for colored hair, and really does work magic on hair. Not to mention it has a nice lasting fragrance. You can use other products as well. Just make sure that they are silicone/sulfate free, and say on the cover that it is safe for colored hair.

Heat Products

I’m pretty sure we all know how damaging heat products can be. They can dry out your hair like crazy! Fortunately, a very smart person invented heat protectant spray. The spray is meant to protect your hair from the damaging heat of flat irons, curling irons, etc. It doesn’t matter whether or not you have colored hair, you must have a heat protectant spray; especially if you use heat products on a regular basis. Just be cautious when using them. You don’t want to have a bunch of split ends.

Leave a Reply

