2 Quarts of Delicious Sweet Iced Tea

Growing up in the south, you get a lot of different foods. You have candied yams, fried chicken, mashed potatoes, grits, and the best of all, sweet tea! Ah yes, sweet tea, the perfect drink for a relaxing day. And it goes with any meal too! I love it whenever it’s a nice, sunny day, and I go outside on my hammock with my glass of sweet tea, and it just feels like paradise.

So the other day, while I was making a batch of sweet tea, it occurred to me that I should share the sweetness of this southern drink. Now, usually when I make sweet tea, I don’t follow a recipe. But this morning I made another (delicious) batch and recorded what I used. So I guess you could say I stirred up a recipe and am proud to share it with y’all.

img_7278

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups of Hot Water
  • 1/4 Tsp of Baking Soda
  • 5 Tea Bags
  • 1 Cup of Sugar (give or take depending on how sweet you want it)

Instructions:

  1. Heat up about 2 cups of water to a boil (place in bowl)
  2. Add the 5 tea bags to the bow of hot water and let it steep for 6-10 minutesimg_7283
  3. Remove tea bags from bowl and pour the tea into your 2-quart pitcher
  4. Add sugar to pitcher (I prefer 1 cup)img_7284img_7285
  5. Add 1/4 Tsp of baking soda (This isn’t completely necessary, but the baking soda is used to take out any bitterness the tea may have. Even though it’s not necessary, I recommend using it still.)img_7286
  6. Fill up the rest of the pitcher with water
  7. Enjoy your Southern Sweet Iced Tea
Leave a Reply

