Markets & Soccer Games

Yesterday morning I woke up to… a mom yelling at me to wake up or else we’re going to be late to the farmer’s market. I woke up around 6:15, and didn’t exactly have a good sleep either, but still managed to get dressed and ready for the big morning ahead. My mom has been making soaps and candles, and I help her with them. At the Farmer’s Market my mom was going to try and sell them. We were in fact also sharing a booth with our friend Silva, who sells local honey and preserves. The morning actually went by pretty good. After we got in the car we stopped by Pop’s Place and I grabbed some grits, ham, bacon, and eggs. Very delicious. In fact, Pop’s Place is next to a gas station, so while I was walking out I look towards the car to see my mom waving her hands to get me to hurry up. When I got in the car I asked her why she was in such a rush since we’re still half an hour early, and she said that Silva’s car was at the gas station. And it really was. My mom told me that she has to beat him to the farmer’s market, so we raced off to the Market to set up. But he was right behind us so we sort of showed up at the same time (although we were in front.) So we set up and started our long morning of selling.

It actually went well for a first time. A lot of people bought Silva’s things. He made probably over $75. My mom and I only sold 2 candles, but a lot of other people did look at them and said they’ll buy next time. Although, that doesn’t change the fact that we noticed that people go for food much more. So next time we’re going to make pebre (a salsa that my grandma makes) and banana nut bread.

 

After our day at the market, we went home and took a nap, because we were to leave the house at 3 so we could be early to the Atlanta United soccer game! We ended up leaving around 3:30 and got there at 6. Traffic was awful. The game was to start 7 too. But we were all hungry so we went to a restaurant (which I regret not knowing the name to because it was delicious. Although, if y’all know where The Varsity restaurant is, it was right next to them.) They had gyros, pizza, and a really good philly sandwich.

 

The game was amazing. It was my first time going to a professional soccer game and WOW! We actually had the very top stands and got to see everything. It was really funny though because to our bottom left was the “Rowdy Crowd”. They started all the chance  and were the loudest group out of everyone. I mean it. They were the ones with the big flags and signs and clapping and it was hilarious. But I’m not going to lie, I hope I get to sit there next time!

It was a really good game. Even though it was really annoying how many times the men over exaggerated getting hurt, it was interesting. There was a lot of good passes and kicks. That last kick, oh my goodness I am so sad I didn’t get to record it! It was a really good shot. One of the coolest things was probably whenever Atlanta United shot a goal, there was fire coming out of these boxes by the goal. The only bad thing was the line was sooooo long and we were actually about 10-15 minutes late into the game. But that didn’t mean we missed the first goal!

It was a really good experience with my family and I hope I get to do it again some time. (Not to mention we actually drove through the main part of the city. Traffic was awful getting out, but seeing the city was really cool considering I live out in the country.)

Check out a short video here: Atlanta United Game Video

 

Oh, and we won 3-1!

Leave a Reply

